September 23, 2020 14:00–17:00
Workshop Software Garden

With this workshop as part of the Fleshy Interface festival, you can become part of Rory Pilgrim's multidisciplinary project «Software Garden».

Artist Rory Pilgrim in conjunction with Cabaret Voltaire and Neumarkt as part of «Fleshy Interface» Festival is looking for eight participants to take part in a live performance of «Software Garden». Released in 2018, «Software Garden» is Rory Pilgrim’s debut music video album which asks how we create systems by uniting the human, robotic and digital with basic principles of empathy, care and kindness. Collaborating with different generations and backgrounds, Software Garden in particular asks how we come together behind our screens.

During a three-day workshop, you will work with Rory Pilgrim and choreographer and artist Cassie Augusta Jørgensen to explore questions of touch, connection and support. Using both digital and in ‘meet space’, the workshops will especially consider the effects of the global pandemic and find ways we can physically connect and a support within the safety restrictions needed.

All time slots of the workshop:
Wednesday, 23.09.20, 2-5 p.m.
Thursday, 24.09.20, 2-5 p.m.
Friday, 25.09.20, 2-5 p.m.

Showing of the workshop (Performance "Software Garden"): Saturday, 26.09.20, 16:00 at Neumarkt. After the performance we eat a soup at Neumarkt at 17:00.

To participate in the workshop, please send an e-mail to fleshyinterface@theaterneumarkt.ch

The workshop costs:
CHF 30.-/60.-/90.- (3 days)
CHF 20.-/40.-/80.- (2 days)
The participants decide which price you can pay.

The cross-institutional festival «Fleshy Interface» combines performances and workshops and has the rediscovery of physicality as its central theme. The body as a medium and as an instrument in the performing arts, the digital body, immateriality and the longing for touching and being touched occupy us in this special time of physical distance. Initiated by Neumarkt, in collaboration with Cabaret Voltaire, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Literaturhaus, Tanzhaus, Fabriktheater, Winkelwiese, Shedhalle, ZHdK and Helferei. Rory Pilgrim participates at the invitation of Cabaret Voltaire, in close collaboration with Neumarkt. The complete programme of the festival including e-booklet can be found here.

Software Garden Live Concert, 2019, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Photo: Maarten Nauw

23. September 2020, 14:00–17:00
Workshop Software Garden

Mit diesem Workshop im Rahmen des Festivals «Fleshy Interface» können Sie Teil von Rory Pilgrims multidisziplinären Projekts «Software Garden» werden.

Der Künstler Rory Pilgrim sucht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cabaret Voltaire und dem Neumarkt im Rahmen des Festivals «Fleshy Interface» acht Teilnehmer*innen für eine Live-Performance von «Software Garden». «Software Garden», das 2018 veröffentlicht wurde, ist Rory Pilgrims erstes Musikvideoalbum, das die Frage stellt, inwiefern wir Systeme schaffen können, die das Menschliche, Ökologische und Technologische mit den Grundprinzipien von Einfühlungsvermögen, Fürsorge und Freundlichkeit vereinen. «Software Garden» arbeitet mit verschiedenen Generationen und Hintergründen und fragt insbesondere, wie wir hinter unseren Bildschirmen zusammenkommen.

Während des dreitägigen Workshops arbeiten Sie mit Rory Pilgrim und der Choreografin und Künstlerin Cassie Augusta Jørgensen zusammen, um Fragen der Berührung, Verbindung und Unterstützung zu untersuchen. Die Workshops, die sowohl digital als auch im 'meet space' stattfinden, werden sich insbesondere mit den Auswirkungen der globalen Pandemie befassen und Wege finden, wie wir uns physisch verbinden und eine Unterstützung innerhalb der erforderlichen Sicherheitseinschränkungen finden können.

Alle Zeiten des Workshops:
Mittwoch, 23.09.20, 14-17 Uhr
Donnerstag, 24.09.20, 14-17 Uhr
Freitag, 25.09.20, 14-17 Uhr

Showing des Workshops (Performance «Software Garden»): Samstag, 26.09.20, 16:00 im Neumarkt. Das Showing endet mit einer Suppe im Neumarkt um 17 Uhr.

Um am Workshop teilzunehmen, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an fleshyinterface@theaterneumarkt.ch

Der Workshop kostet:
CHF 30.-/60.-/90.- (3 Tage)
CHF 20.-/40.-/80.- (2 Tage)
Die Teilnehmer*innen entscheiden, welchen Preis Sie zahlen können.

Das institutionsübergreifende Festival «Fleshy Interface» verbindet Performances und Workshops und hat die Wiederentdeckung der Körperlichkeit als zentrales Thema. Der Körper als Medium und als Instrument in den darstellenden Künsten, der digitale Körper, Körperlosigkeit und die Sehnsucht nach Berühren und Berührtwerden beschäftigen uns in dieser besonderen Zeit der physischen Distanzierung. Initiert vom Neumarkt, in Zusammenarbeit mit Cabaret Voltaire, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Literaturhaus, Tanzhaus, Fabriktheater, Winkelwiese, Shedhalle, ZHdK und Helferei. Rory Pilgrim partizipiert auf Einladung des Cabaret Voltaire, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Neumarkt. Das gesamte Programm des Festivals inklusive E-Booklet ist hier zu finden.

Software Garden Live Concert, 2019, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, Photo: Maarten Nauw