October 2 until January 16, 2021
Agnes Scherer, «The Teacher»

A didactic operetta by Agnes Scherer
Puppet play: Soya Arakawa
Music: Tobias Textor
Vocalist: Claudia Barth

The next performances of the didactic operetta will be on 08.12.20 and 10.12.20. Please register at info@cabaretvoltaire.ch.

Performance of the operetta «The Teacher» by Agnes Scherer with Soya Arakawa, Claudia Barth and Tobias Textor at Cabaret Voltaire, Photo: Gunnar Meier

<
1
>

In the work of Agnes Scherer (*1985), the operettas that she has been developing since 2015, occupy a unique position. Her unusual performance-formats draw inspiration from basal theatre forms such as processions, the mechanical theatres of the Baroque period, and even from the form of PowerPoint presentations. Thereby, Scherer is interested in possibilities of liberating the work of art from the status of the passive object, and giving it a heightened agency. At the center of «The Teacher» stands a teacher figure, which is controlled by a student – performed by Soya Arakawa – laying on the floor, using his feet to control the figure by employing some quite formidable effort. The teacher is thus placed in a didactic frenzy, a kind of hectic dance that sometimes seems monstrous, sometimes seductive. His lessons are illustrated by large diagrams that fall to the floor in short intervals, in order to reveal something new over and over again. What the teacher presents sounds impressive and true but in fact, contradicts itself. The text, which is closely interwoven with Tobias Textor’s rapid percussion, consists of aphorisms that Scherer was partly told by authorities and partly wrote herself. Together, the texts analyse and demonstrate the rhetorical blueprint of so-called wisdoms and their manipulative potential.

The concluding lesson, “The greater is the lesser and the lesser is the greater” seems to claim that in reality, there are opposing (power-)relations which exist a priori to those who are visible; logical if one considers that the teacher would be incapable of acting without the supporting function of the student. – Or, is it an insidiously constructed paradox, whose seductive anti-logic wants to convince the pupil to be satisfied while remaining in his powerless position? After this final lesson, the teacher disappears, leaving the pupil disoriented, longing for the return of his master. A colossal letter opens. Instead of the longed-for word of authority from afar, what emerges is a scene depicting futile waiting where the student, reclined on a sarcophagus, turns to stone while waiting. The content of the letter suggests that, in fact, no letter has ever arrived. Meanwhile, a stone replicate replaces the waiting and laying student, who can escape through a side hatch in the sarcophagus. In this final image, the artist opens up a space for in-between moments, which play out in unequal relationships. For example, the action of the student can be read as naivety that exists in order to accept power relations. At the same time, though, the scene also reflects the ambivalent longing toward wanting to be at home in a teaching, while, in equal measure, emancipating oneself from it. The master-student-relationship, which in «The Teacher» is embodied by men, refers back to the history of authority, which as a social principle of order and relationship is male. The fact that a woman transmits the patriarchal speech-act – the logos – causes a refraction through which a critical distance is created.

The twelve large paintings that accompany the lessons are playing with the genre of the diagram. The depicted arrangement of objects and pictorial figures seem to illustrate causalities and conditional relationships. However, this communicative character, which invites us to understand, is counteracted by a compositional unity containing fantastical landscapes. In analogy to the texts with which they correspond, they evoke a sentiment of near comprehension. The image-finding process emerges from a longstanding practice of elaborated pencil drawings, which is illustrated by a series exhibited on the upper floor of the Cabaret Voltaire. Stylistically, both, the paintings and the drawings combine, among other things, elements of the Middle Ages with those of Surrealism from the 1960s and 1970s and testify to the broad spectrum of references with which the artist, who is also trained as an art historian, works. References include the medieval Voynich manuscript, which illustrates botanical, anatomical, and astronomical contexts, and the psychedelic comic book Codex Seraphinianus (1981), which is based on the Voynich manuscript in its encyclopaedic approach.

With regard to the historical legacy of the Cabaret Voltaire, Scherer’s work connects in many ways to the site. By bringing together paintings, puppetry, sculpture, stagecraft, music and text, the artist continues the tradition of the Gesamtkunstwerk. Yet, Scherer also touches on other core themes of the Dada Zurich: She illustrates and distorts authoritarian relationships, whether it be through language, gestures or visual mediation. The didactic recognises itself ludicrously.

At Cabaret Voltaire, the installation accompanying the operetta will be on display for the entire duration of the exhibition. At the opening on October 2, at the matinée on October 3, and on December 8 and 10, Agnes Scherer will enliven the production collaborating with Tobias Textor (musician/Berlin), Soya Arakawa (performer/Düsseldorf) and Claudia Barth (performer and activist/Zurich). In addition to the exhibition on the ground floor, a series of large-scale pencil drawings by the artist, spanning the years 2017-2019, is also on display on the upper floor.

«The Teacher» was shown for the first time in April/May 2019 at the Berlin project space Kinderhook & Caracas, curated by Sol Calero and Christopher Kline.

Agnes Scherer, *1985 in Lohr am Main, Germany, lives and works in Berlin. She studied art history in Tübingen and Vienna and fine arts at the Düsseldorf Art Academy. In 2019, she won the Berlin Art Prize. Most recently, her work has been shown in group exhibitions including in the Galerie ChertLüdde (Berlin, 2019) and the Kunstverein Düsseldorf (Düsseldorf, 2019), as well as in solo exhibitions; “Coeurs Simples”, Galerie Sans Titre (Paris, 2020), “Orlando Tussaud”, Philipp Haverkampf Galerie (Berlin, 2019/20); “The Very Hungry”, Horse & Pony (Berlin, Berlin Art Prize finalists exhibition 2019); «The Teacher», Kinderhook & Caracas (Berlin, 2019) and “Cupid and the Animals”, Tramps (New York, 2018 and London, 2017). “The Teacher” was first shown in April and May 2019 in the Berlin project space Kinderhook & Caracas, curated by Sol Calero and Christopher Kline. www.agnesscherer.de

The career of multidisciplinary artist Soya Arakawa (* 1984 in Hamamatsu, Japan) includes many years of activity in the field of performance - including solo performances as well as repeated collaborations, in which he acts as a singer, dancer and instrumentalist. His contribution to «The Teacher» draws on his profound knowledge of the art of puppetry, which he also explores in his own recent work. His most recent projects include the performance Crystals at the Market Gallery, Glasgow (February 2020) and Passacaglia della Vita, together with the group SPINE (to which Claudia Barth belongs) at the Simultanhalle Köln (September 2020). Soya Arakawa lives in Krefeld, Germany. www.tacolv.org

The music for «The Teacher» was composed by Tobias Textor (* 1986 in Siegen, Germany). The Berlin-based musician cultivates an experimental attitude and creates music as a spontaneous reaction to social and material environments. His more recent works include «The Teacher», the setting to music of a painting performance by Gregor Hildebrandt together with Christopher Schmidt (2018), as well as compositions with Ornella Balhi for the operetta The Salty Testament, which is currently being written. In 2020, he developed music in connection with drawing in the context of the artists’ residence in the Freiraum of the dance company Ben J. Riepe in Düsseldorf. For «The Teacher», Textor has put together a percussion set of gongs and wooden percussion instruments, most of which originate from theatre contexts. Through his unconventional approach to these instruments, he elicits new and exciting sound qualities from them. https://www.instagram. com/tobias_textor/

Claudia Barth’s (* 1987 in Herrliberg, Switzerland) work focuses on a performance practice that concentrates on movement and speech acts. Her socially and politically committed artistic activity has resulted in video works, sculptural works and large-scale silhouette cut-out. In 2019 Barth completed the long-term project «Eu-você» at the EinTanzhaus Mannheim, a collaboration with her sister Isabelle Barth and Brazilian artists. Part of this project are also the video works «every smell a thousand memories», which were also shown in 2019 at the Raum*station Zürich, as well as the performance «(?) “Eu não falo português - Ich spreche kein Portugiesisch», which can be seen online this year as a final work at the HKB Bern. At the end of October 2020, Claudia Barth will compete in Geneva as part of the Performance Prize Switzerland. For «The Teacher», she performs as a reciter. https://cap-common-ground.ch/artists/claudiabarth, www.barthclaudia.com

2. Oktober bis 16. Januar 2021
Agnes Scherer, «The Teacher»

Eine didaktische Operette von Agnes Scherer
Puppenspiel: Soya Arakawa
Musik: Tobias Textor
Vokalistin: Claudia Barth

Die nächsten Aufführungen der didaktischen Operette finden am 08.12.20 und am 10.12.20 statt. Bitte anmelden unter info@cabaretvoltaire.ch.

Aufführung der Operette «The Teacher» von Agnes Scherer mit Soya Arakawa, Claudia Barth und Tobias Textor im Cabaret Voltaire, Photo: Gunnar Meier

<
1
>

Im Werk Agnes Scherers (*1985) nehmen die Operetten, die sie seit 2015 entwickelt, eine besondere Stellung ein. Die ungewöhnlichen Performanceformate schöpfen Inspiration aus basalen Theaterformen wie Prozessionen, den mechanischen Theatern des Barocks oder auch der Power-Point-Präsentation. Dabei interessiert sich Scherer für Möglichkeiten, das Kunstwerk aus dem Status des passiven Objekts zu befreien und ihm eine gesteigerte Handlungsmacht zu verleihen. Im Zentrum von «The Teacher» steht eine Lehrerfigur, die von einem auf dem Boden liegenden Schüler – performt von Soya Arakawa – unter enormer Anstrengung mit den Füssen gesteuert wird. Der Lehrer wird so in eine didaktische Rage versetzt, eine Art hektischen Tanz, der manchmal monströs, manchmal fast verführerisch wirkt. Seine Lektionen werden von grossen Schaubildern illustriert, die nach kurzer Zeit zu Boden fallen, um immer wieder ein dahinterliegendes, neues freizugeben. Was der Lehrer vorträgt, klingt eindrucksvoll und wahr, widerspricht sich aber. Der mit Tobias Textors rasanter Perkussion eng verwobene Text besteht aus Sentenzen, die Scherer teils von Autoritäten zu hören bekam, teils selbst verfasste. Zusammen analysieren und demonstrieren sie den rhetorischen Bauplan sogenannter Weisheiten und deren manipulatives Potenzial.

Die Abschlusslektion „Das Grössere ist das Kleinere und das Kleinere ist das Grössere“ scheint zu behaupten, dass in Wirklichkeit gegenteilige Verhältnisse zu den sichtbaren (Macht-)Verhältnissen vorliegen: Folgerichtig, wenn man bedenkt, dass der Lehrer ohne die stützende Funktion des Schülers handlungsunfähig wäre. Oder handelt es sich um ein heimtückisch konstruiertes Paradoxon, dessen verführerische Anti-Logik den Zögling davon überzeugen will, sich mit seiner machtlosen Lage zufriedenzugeben? Nach dieser Abschlusslektion verschwindet der Lehrer und lässt den Schüler orientierungslos zurück, die Rückkehr seines Meisters herbeisehnend. Ein kolossaler Brief öffnet sich. Heraus kommt, statt des ersehnten Machtworts aus der Ferne, ein Bild des vergeblichen Wartens – der Schüler als im Warten zu Stein gewordene Liegefigur auf einem Sarkophag. Der Briefinhalt deutet an, dass in Wahrheit nie ein Brief eingetroffen ist. Indessen ersetzt das steinerne Abbild den wartend liegenden Schüler, der durch eine seitliche Klappe im Sarkophag entwischen kann. In diesem Schlussbild eröffnet sich die Ambiguität zwischen dem Bedürfnis nach geistiger Anleitung und dem fortwährenden Wunsch, sich davon zu emanzipieren. Die Meister-Schüler-Beziehung, die in «The Teacher» von Männern verkörpert wird, rekurriert auf die Autoritätsgeschichte, die als gesellschaftliches Ordnungsprinzip und Beziehungsmuster männlich geprägt ist. Dass eine Frau den patriarchalen Sprechakt – den Logos – übermittelt, bewirkt eine Brechung, durch die eine kritische Distanz entsteht.

Die zwölf grossen Gemälde, welche die Lektionen begleiten, spielen mit dem Genre des Schaubildes. Die dargestellten Arrangements von Gegenständen und Bildpersonal scheinen Kausalitäten und Bedingungsverhältnisse zu veranschaulichen. Diesem Mitteilungscharakter, der einlädt, zu verstehen, wirkt jedoch eine kompositorische Geschlossenheit mit phantastischen Landschaften entgegen. Analog zu den Texten, mit denen sie korrespondieren, erzeugen sie ein Gefühl des Beinahe-Begreifens. Die Bildfindungen gehen aus einer langjährigen Praxis der elaborierten Bleistiftzeichnung hervor, die eine im Obergeschoss des Cabaret Voltaire ausgestellte Serie veranschaulicht. Stilistisch verbinden sowohl die Gemälde als auch die Zeichnungen u. a. Elemente des Mittelalters mit solchen des Surrealismus der 1960er- und 70er-Jahre und zeugen von dem breiten Spektrum an Bezugsquellen, mit denen die auch als Kunsthistorikerin ausgebildete Künstlerin arbeitet. Eine Referenz ist beispielsweise das psychedelische Künstlerbuch Codex Seraphinianus (1981, Luigi Serafini), das in seiner enzyklopädischen Herangehensweise die mittelalterliche Diagrammatik zum Vorbild hat.

Im Hinblick auf das historische Erbe des Cabaret Voltaire findet Scherers Werk vielschichtig Anschluss. Mit der Zusammenführung von Gemälden, Puppenspiel, Skulptur, Bühnentechnik, Musik und Text führt die Künstlerin die Tradition des Gesamtkunstwerks fort. Scherer berührt aber auch weitere Kernthemen von Dada Zürich: Sie veranschaulicht und verdreht autoritäre Beziehungen, sei es in der Sprache, den Gesten oder der visuellen Vermittlung. Die Didaktik erkennt sich irrwitzig.

Im Cabaret Voltaire wird die Installation zur Operette während der gesamten Ausstellungsdauer zu sehen sein. Zur Eröffnnung am 2. Oktober, zur Matinée am 3. Oktober sowie am 8. und am 10. Dezember belebt Agnes Scherer die Inszenierung gemeinsam mit Tobias Textor (Musiker/Berlin), Soya Arakawa (Performer/Düsseldorf) und Claudia Barth (Performerin und Aktivistin/Zürich). Ergänzend zur Ausstellung im Erdgeschoss ist zudem eine Serie grosser Bleistiftzeichnungen der Künstlerin aus den Jahren 2017-2019 im Obergeschoss zu sehen.

«The Teacher» wurde erstmals im April und Mai 2019 im Berliner Projektraum Kinderhook & Caracas, kuratiert von Sol Calero und Christopher Kline, gezeigt.

Agnes Scherer, 1985 in Lohr am Main, Deutschland, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte in Tübingen und Wien sowie Freie Kunst an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. 2019 gewann sie den Berlin Art Prize. Zuletzt war ihre Arbeit in Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen, u. a. in der Galerie ChertLüdde (Berlin, 2019) und dem Kunstverein Düsseldorf (Düsseldorf, 2019) sowie in den Einzelausstellungen „Coeurs Simples“, Galerie Sans Titre (Paris, 2020), „Orlando Tussaud“, Philipp Haverkampf Galerie (Berlin, 2019/20); „The Very Hungry“, Horse & Pony (Berlin, Berlin Art Prize Finalist*innenausstellung 2019); «The Teacher», Kinderhook & Caracas (Berlin, 2019) und „Cupid and the Animals“, Tramps (New York, 2018 und London, 2017). «The Teacher» wurde erstmals im April und Mai 2019 im Berliner Projektraum Kinderhook & Caracas, kuratiert von Sol Calero und Christopher Kline, gezeigt. www.agnesscherer.de

Die Karriere des multidisziplinären Künstlers Soya Arakawa (* 1984 in Hamamatsu, Japan) umfasst langjährige Aktivität im Bereich Performance – darunter Soloperformances in Eigenregie sowie immer wieder Kollaborationen, in denen er als Sänger, Tänzer sowie als Instrumentalist agiert. Sein Beitrag zu «The Teacher» schöpft aus tiefgreifenden Kenntnissen der Puppenspielkunst, mit denen er sich auch in seiner eigenen jüngeren Arbeit intensiv beschäftigt. Zu seinen letzten Projekten gehört die Performance Crystals in der Market Gallery, Glasgow (Februar 2020) und Passacaglia della Vita, gemeinsam mit der Gruppe SPINE (zu der auch Claudia Barth gehört), in der Simultanhalle Köln (September 2020). Soya Arakawa lebt in Krefeld, Deutschland. www.tacolv.org

Die Musik für «The Teacher» wurde von Tobias Textor (* 1986 in Siegen, Deutschland) komponiert. Der in Berlin lebende Musiker kultiviert eine experimentelle Haltung und schafft Musik als spontane Reaktion auf soziale und materielle Umwelten. Seine jüngeren Arbeiten umfassen neben «The Teacher» die Vertonung einer Malperformance von Gregor Hildebrandt, gemeinsam mit Christopher Schmidt (2018), sowie gemeinsam mit Ornella Balhi Kompositionen für die zurzeit entstehende Operette «The Salty Testament». 2020 entwickelte er im Rahmen der Künstlerresidenz im Freiraum der Tanzkompanie Ben J. Riepe in Düsseldorf Musik im Zusammenhang mit Zeichnung. Für «The Teacher» hat Textor ein Perkussion-Set aus Gongs und Holzschlaginstrumenten zusammengestellt, die grösstenteils Theaterkontexten entstammen. Durch seine unkonventionelle Herangehensweise an diese Instrumente entlockt er ihnen neue und spannende Soundqualitäten. https://www.instagram.com/tobi...

Im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit Claudia Barths (* 1987 in Herrliberg, Schweiz) steht eine auf Bewegung und Sprechakte konzentrierte Performancepraxis. Aus ihrer gesellschaftlich und politisch engagierten künstlerischen Aktivität gehen ausserdem Videoarbeiten, bildhauerische Werke und grosse Scherenschnitte hervor. 2019 brachte Barth am EinTanzhaus Mannheim das Langzeitprojekt Eu-você, eine Zusammenarbeit mit ihrer Schwester Isabelle Barth und brasilianischen Künstler*innen, zum Abschluss. Teil dieses Projekts sind auch die Videoarbeiten „every smell a thousand memories“, die ebenfalls 2019 in der Raum*station Zürich gezeigt wurden, sowie die Performance (?)„Eu não falo português – Ich spreche kein Portugiesisch“, die dieses Jahr als Abschlussarbeit an der HKB Bern online zu sehen ist. Ende Oktober 2020 wird Claudia Barth ausserdem im Rahmen des Performancepreises Schweiz in Genf antreten. Für «The Teacher» performt sie als Rezitatorin. www.barthclaudia.com, https://cap-common-ground.ch/a...